Prime ministers in India

List of all the Prime Ministers of India from 1947-2021 below:

S.N. Name Party Name Born-Dead Term of office Remark
1. Jawahar Lal Nehru Indian National Congress (1889–1964) 15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964

16 years, 286 days

Jawahar Lal Nehru was the first prime minister of India. He was also one of the longest-serving PM of India.
2. Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting) Indian National Congress (1898-1998) 27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964,

13 days


Gulzarilal Nanda was the first acting PM of India. He served as a Acting PM of  India twice after the death of current PM, first after the death of Jawaharlal Nehru and second after the death of Lal Bahadur Shastri
3. Lal Bahadur Shastri Indian National Congress (1904–1966) 9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966

1 year, 216 days

He was known for the slogan of ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ during the Indo-Pak war of 1965.
4.  Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting) Indian National Congress (1898-1998) 11 January 1966 to 24 January 1966

13 days

-Second time he served as Acting PM of India  after sudden death of current PM Lal Bahadur Sahstri.
5. Indira Gandhi Indian National Congress (1917–1984) 24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977

11 years, 59 days

Indira Gandhi was the first female Prime Minister of India. She was known as ‘Iron Lady of India’
6. Morarji Desai Janata Party (1896–1995) 24 March 1977 to  28 July 1979

2 year, 126 days

Morarji Desai was the oldest appointed PM of India. He was 81 Year old when he become the Prime Minister of  India. He was also the first non congress PM of India.


7. Charan Singh Janata Party (Secular) (1902–1987) 28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980

170 days

Only PM who did not face the Parliament. Charan Singh only prime Minister of India who never visited parliament during his tenure.
8. Indira Gandhi Indian National Congress


(1917–1984) 14 January 1980 to 31 October 1984

4 years, 291 days

She is the first lady who served as PM for the second term. After Jawahar Lal Nehru she was the only PM of India who served twice.
9. Rajiv Gandhi  Indian National Congress


(1944–1991) 31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989

5 years, 32 days

Rajiv Gandhi was the Youngest PM of India. He was only 40 Years old when he become prime minister of India.
10. V. P. Singh  Indian National Congress (1931–2008) 2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990

343 days

First PM of India to step down after a vote of no confidence in Parliament.
11. Chandra Shekhar  Indian National Congress (1927–2007) 10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991

223 days

He belongs to Samajwadi Janata Party. Second non congress PM of India.
12. P. V. Narasimha Rao  Indian National Congress


(1921–2004) 21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996

4 years, 330 days

First PM from south India . The full name of P.V. Narasimha Rao was Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao.
13. Atal Bihari Vajpayee Bharatiya Janata Party


(1924- 2018) 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996

16 days

Atal Bihari Vajpayee is also know as shortest tenure PM of India. He served only 13 Days in his first tenure.
14. H. D. Deve Gowda Janata Dal  (United Front) (born 1933) 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997

324 days

He belongs to  Janata Dal. His full name is Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda.
15. Inder Kumar Gujral Janata Dal  (United Front) (1919–2012) 21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998

332 days

16. Atal Bihari Vajpayee Bharatiya Janata Party


(1924-2018) 19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004

6 years, 64 days

 Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the only first non-congress PM who completed a full term as PM.
17. Manmohan Singh Indian National Congress


(born 1932) 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014

10 years, 4 days

 Manmohan sing was the first Sikh PM of India. He Served twice as Prime Minister of India. He is known for the father of the India’s economic reform programme.
18. Narendra Modi Bharatiya Janata Party


(born 1950) 26 May 2014 – Present 4th Prime Minister of India who served two consecutive tenures. Narendra Modi is the current PM of India.

By Mayank

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *